Vol 1: The First Days

Vol 2: Fires Were Started

Vol 3: A Diary for Timothy

5 DVD/BLU-RAY SET 9 HRS 40 MINS 2011-13 V063



You Save40%
Widely celebrated as one of Britain’s greatest filmmakers, Jennings is a true poet of the cinema. The first of these three volumes, which collect together Jennings’ entire output, gathers 14 films from 1934-1940. It features the critically acclaimed Spare Time and the rousing London Can Take It! as well as previously neglected works. In Volume Two the films offer a lyrical portrait of the nation at war: from the call to arms of The Heart of Britain and Words for Battle to the poetic evocation of daily life in Listen to Britain and the powerfully resonating drama of Fires Were Started and The Silent Village. Volume Three features the films Jennings made between 1944 and 1951, featuring A Diary for Timothy, his much-loved collaboration with E M Forster, The Dim Little Island, a muted but affecting celebration of Britishness, and Family Portrait, the esoteric Festival of Britain film.